Tuesday, May 30

In conversation with Vaishali Bhagat Master- Jaipur’s Bikerni head

Vaishali Bhagat Master, an architect by profession, has been into motorcycling since 20 years. She started riding for visiting work sites as a part of her profession and has now reached to the level of seasoned rider who easily takes up long rides.


Q) Describe on how you got to where you are with motorcycling today.

A) Since last 6 years I have been into riding for fun & self enjoyment which has now reached to a whole new level. In fact I am looking forward to take riding as a profession.

Q) Why preferred motorcycle over scooter?

A) My profession demand took me to prefer motorcycle over scooter. I used to visit work sites where the condition of roads were pathetic. It was only motorcycles I could ride on such roads. In short it was a requirement that turned into a passion gradually.

Q) The first motorcycle you started riding/ learnt riding?

A) The first bike I learnt riding was my father’s Hero Honda CD100 SS and then my husband’s Hero Honda Splendor.

Q) Your ride now?

A) Royal Enfield !! I used to ride the Honda Unicorn Dazzler(sports edition) and did many long trips. Later, I planned of an upgrade because as every biker I had dreams of LEH-LADAKH trip on a Royal Enfield. Finally, in May 2016 I got my RE.


Q) Do you maintain and repair motorcycles on your own?

A) Yes. All these years I have been maintaining all my vehicles myself.

Q) Joined any riding clubs/ motorcycle clubs?

A) Initially I became member of All India female riders club ‘The Bikerni’ based at Pune, Maharashtra. Then being in northern part of India, I joined bikerni north chapter ‘Delhi Bikerni’. It seemed very tough for me to go every now and then to Delhi to join for a ride.

I decided to have my own club in Jaipur. After meeting 2-3 female riders from the bikerni group -Jaipur, then came into existence-Rajasthan’s one & only female riding club- “Pink City Bikerni”

Q) Is there a local motorcycling event that you try and attend regularly?

A) I have been attached with many riding groups all over India, so whenever there is any ride I try to join them for a day or two.

Q) How far have you ridden your motorcycle?

A) Far far.. enough. I went on a 2,600 km trip to Gujarat, Delhi –Rishikesh trip of 1200 km, Kutch trip with my son (who also loves riding) 1800 km & many short trips of 100-200 km.

Q) Do you have a motorcycling achievement that you take pride in?

A) In October 2016,  me and my group achieved India book of records- First Female Group to travel from West to East of India i.e. a round trip of Jaipur to Koteshwar in Kutch, Gujarat to Tezu , Arunachal Pradesh.

Recently, I with my friend also covered Nashri-Chenani tunnel the longest in India on the Jammu-Srinagar national highway. Now it is closed for bikers.

Q) Do you have any motorcycling heroes?

A) None other than Myself…

Q) How are women motorcycle riders treated by most people and by male motorcyclists?

A) I have travelled extensively in India mostly solo and the kind of respect I have received is overwhelming. People find it really interesting and even wished that their daughters will ride like us.

Q) Parents/ Friends- How do they feel of you riding a motorcycle. Any special comments?

A) Papa was a great supporter. My husband Jayesh is backbone to every ride as he is only person who suffers my absence. My son is in USA and is a silent supporter. I have friends all over India, great moral support from them and the love I keep getting from all is a boost to my dreams of more rides to come.

Q) The motorcycles you wish / dream to see parked in your garage?

A) It has always been Royal Enfield only. But I would definitely like to see a Triumph Tiger parked in my garage.

Q) Message to other female riders?

A) Come out..Be bold. Travel as much as you can, as it’s the only way you learn to see world in other way.

Unedited interview and as told to team technwheelz.

PC- respective owners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: